Day 01 – My Favourite Song

I always have a problem with labeling something ‘my favourite’ anything.

Especially with something that is bound up with all sorts of emotional stuff the way music is

But today, if I have to choose a single track to be my favourite I’m gonna just go with what first came to mind when I started to write this post, which was De La Soul’s Stakes Is High:

It’s probably not even recognised as De La’s ‘best’ song but as it came out during a period in the mid-90s where I was *heavily* influenced by east-coast socially conscious hip-hop. As a sharp criticism of the state of the world at the time it is very much at odds with their previously happy-go-lucky output, but the lyrics and (especially) J-Dilla’s production still seem as on-point as they ever have.

So that’s it. The first post of thirty. Tomorrow’s post is my least favourite song. It should be entertaining (to me at least) to see what I decide upon, cos I do hate a shit-load of different stuff.

Leave a Reply

